DNC Chairman – Preview

Image

DNC CHAIRMAN

 

PREVIEW/CLIPS

 

 

 

INT – SMALL BEDROOM (ALICE’S AUNT KAYLA’S GUEST ROOM, IRELAND) NIGHT

 

 

 

Mike and Alice are alone together, standing near two single-sized beds made up for them.

 

 

 

MIKE

 

Alice Kelly O’Reilly… Will you

 

marry me?

 

 

 

ALICE

 

What was that?

 

 

 

MIKE

 

Will you marry me and be mine

 

forever?

 

 

 

ALICE

 

(throws her arms

 

around him)

 

Oh, I will, I will, yes. I’ve got

 

to tell Katie.

 

 

 

She runs out of the room like a schoolgirl. Mike’s phone RINGS. He answers it.

 

 

 

MIKE

 

Hello…

 

 

 

STEVE, A DNC

 

OFFICIAL (v.o.)

 

(filtered)

 

Mike, it’s Steve.

 

 

 

MIKE

 

Hey, Steve, guess what? Alice and

 

I are getting married.

 

 

 

STEVE (v.o.)

 

(filtered)

 

Oh that’s great. Congratulations! I

 

wish I could revel with you but

 

unfortunately we have a very tense

 

situation here at the DNC.

 

 

 

MIKE

 

Oh no, what’s going on?

 

 

 

STEVE (v.o.)

 

(filtered)

 

Someone put a very hostile ad on

 

the Internet toward Gerri and

 

endorsed it as from the Parker

 

campaign.

 

MIKE

 

Did you see the ad?

 

 

 

STEVE (v.o.)

 

(filtered)

 

Yes I did. It’s now one of You

 

Tube’s hottest videos.

 

[PAGE 104-105]

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 

 

 

INT – LARGE MEETING ROOM AT DNC HEADQUARTERS DAY

 

 

 

Mike stands before fellow party officials and politicians who fill the room, along with staff members, all of whose eyes are fixed on Mike.

 

 

 

MIKE

 

Ladies and gentleman, thank you

 

for choosing me and allowing me to

 

assume the mantle of the Democratic

 

Party. I don’t like to waste time

 

by making speeches, so let me get

 

down to business right away. There

 

is a lot of work to be done and

 

absolutely all of you are needed to

 

see that it gets done if we are to

 

take back the government from the

 

Republicans and save America and

 

her precious citizens.

 

[PAGE 10-11]

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 

 

 

INT – MIKE’S KITCHEN DAY

 

 

 

[Alice] then flashes him, shaking her body back and forth in a cute,, coy, seductive kind of way as she drops the towel and goes into the shower.

 

 

 

MIKE

 

Ooh, baby! Too bad today’s all

 

booked.

 

 

 

ALICE

 

(sarcastically)

 

Go make the coffee!

 

[PAGE 7]

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 

 

 

INT – SAME ROOM NIGHT

 

 

 

A clock on the wall displays the time as 8:23 PM. Mike is still in the room working with a few staff members. He looks very, very weary and exhausted.

 

 

 

MIKE

 

Oh shit, I forgot to eat. I gotta

 

test my blood sugar.

 

[PAGE 12]

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 

 

 

Mike is on the phone.

 

 

 

MIKE

 

Oh, I’m sorry, I mean how I am. The

 

meeting went better than I expected.

 

Just I’m exhausted.

 

 

 

ALICE (v.o.)

 

(filtered)

 

Well, no shit. You’ve only been

 

there twelve hours. You set for

 

tonight?

 

 

 

MIKE

 

Set for what tonight?

 

[PAGE 13]

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 

 

 

INT – MIKE’S OFFICE DAY

 

 

 

GERRI

 

Mike, life is short. I’m running

 

for President, yet you don’t see

 

me ignoring my husband. I know you

 

like to get all consumed with your

 

work

 

[PAGE 47]

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 

 

 

INT – SMALL BEDROOM (AUNT KAYLA’S GUEST ROOM) NIGHT

 

 

 

MIKE

 

I’m sorry, baby, the most

 

intelligent man in the Party says

 

I need to get back ASAP. We’ll

 

definitely get married as soon as

 

I clean up this mess.

 

 

 

ALICE

 

(crestfallen)

 

No we won’t. It’ll be something

 

else.

 

 

 

MIKE

 

No baby, I really mean it.

 

 

 

ALICE

 

Mike, it’s that same story again.

 

How many times have we been

 

through this? You know, maybe this

 

is really the best thing for me.

 

That way I can see what I’d be

 

getting into.

 

 

 

MIKE

 

No, come on, you’ve gotta have

 

faith. I love you.

 

 

 

ALICE

 

(breaking up)

 

I’m sorry, Mike.

 

 

 

MIKE

 

But I love you.

 

 

 

ALICE

 

(forceful)

 

It’s got nothing to do with love.

 

It’s will you be there. I’m sorry,

 

Mike, your life is just too

 

complicated. You need a superwoman.

 

I just want what every girl

 

deserves.

 

[PAGE 108-109]

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 

 

 

INT – MIKE’S OFFICE DAY

 

 

 

LARRY

 

There’s an old wise proverb, the

 

person who bends the

 

most gets the farthest.

 

 

 

Mike looks intently at Larry, a mixture of intrigued and crestfallen.

 

 

 

LARRY

 

Mike, if things were that easy,

 

many people would have already

 

beaten you to all your great ideas.

 

[PAGE 20]

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 

 

 

INT – WASHINGTON BALLROOM NIGHT

 

 

 

GERRI

 

Oh, how nice of you, John.

 

(less effusive)

 

Senator Blik…I know the game

 

you’re playing. Your repeated

 

attempted intimidations are

 

unnecessary. It doesn’t work with

 

people of my intelligence.

 

 

 

BLIK

 

Arrogant, are we?

 

[PAGE 17]

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 

 

 

INT – DNC RECEPTION AREA DAY

 

 

 

Reporters, AD LIB, try to get Mike’s attention. He takes the mic.

 

 

 

MIKE

 

(confident but tense)

 

Good afternoon. Thank you all for

 

coming. The Democratic Party is

 

moving in an exciting new

 

direction.

 

 

 

He pauses uncomfortably. Voices start up again.

 

 

 

A REPORTER

 

Mr. Chairman, how do plan to combat

 

the weak image of the Democratic

 

Party?

 

[PAGE 21]

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 

 

 

INT – MIKE’S OFFICE DAY

 

 

 

GERRI

 

Mike, Alice called me.

 

 

 

MIKE

 

Alice called you? Why did she call

 

you?

 

 

 

GERRI

 

I think the question you should be

 

asking is, why haven’t you called

 

her?

 

[PAGE 44-45]

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 

 

 

MIKE

 

I know. I knew it would be very

 

difficult if not impossible to be

 

the kind of man she wanted, so I

 

let her go. But it broke my heart.

 

 

 

GERRI

 

And I suppose you went chasing

 

after her like nothing mattered.

 

 

 

MIKE

 

No, she didn’t want me to do that.

 

 

 

GERRI

 

Michael Greenbaum, I beg to differ

 

with you on that. What she didn’t

 

want you to do is keep ignoring

 

her. But not because she didn’t

 

love you. She does love you.

 

 

 

MIKE

 

Really? Why didn’t she say

 

anything?

 

 

 

GERRI

 

Mike, you really don’t know women.

 

This is something no woman wants

 

to have to spell out to the man she

 

loves.

 

[PAGE 45]

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 

 

 

LARRY

 

You’re a good man, Mike. A good

 

man in a cesspool. But you only

 

think you now have more power to

 

change things. You’ll find out

 

very soon that this behemoth is

 

way beyond your reach.

 

[PAGE 20]

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 

 

 

INT – MIKE’S OFFICE DAY

 

 

 

MIKE

 

I just know my limitations.

 

 

 

GERRI

 

Limitations? How dare you?! You go

 

around the country talking about

 

how there will be no limitations

 

to making this country a better

 

place and doing right by our

 

people—a very difficult, nearly

 

impossible task, and yet you dare

 

to set limitations on your ability

 

to make the woman who loves you

 

happy and satisfied?! You sure got

 

your priorities ass-backward,

 

Michael Greenbaum.

 

 

 

MIKE

 

You think I should call her?

 

 

 

GERRI

 

Of course you should call her! Who

 

was the last one to call the

 

other?

 

 

 

MIKE

 

I don’t remember.

 

 

 

GERRI

 

Jog your memory a little harder.

 

[PAGE 46]

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 

 

 

INTERCUT – INT – ALICE’S OFFICE/MIKE’S OFFICE DAY

 

 

 

ALICE

 

You’re right. You do talk well off

 

the cuff. Your sweet talk is

 

pleasantly intoxicating.

 

 

 

MIKE

 

I’m glad it’s working. Because it’s

 

how I really feel in my heart.

 

 

 

ALICE

 

I know. Sincerity you never lacked.

 

 

 

MIKE

 

So will you have dinner with me?

 

[PAGE 54-55]

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 

 

 

INT – MIKE’S OFFICE DAY

 

 

 

JOE

 

UPN called me about an hour ago.

 

They said they were unable to find

 

the time for our show after all.

 

 

 

MIKE

 

(in disbelief)

 

I thought you said that wasn’t

 

going to be a problem.

 

 

 

JOE

 

No, actually, what I remember

 

saying was things turn on a dime

 

when it comes to media.

 

[PAGE 49]

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 

 

 

LARRY

 

Mike, I’ve been on Capitol Hill for

 

decades, since you were in diapers.

 

[PAGE 71]

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 

 

 

INT – SMALL BEDROOM (AUNT KAYLA’S GUEST ROOM) NIGHT

 

 

 

Mike stands with shoulders hunched over forward, looking down for quite a while.

 

 

 

ALICE

 

It’ll be okay, Mike. You’ll be

 

okay. I’ll be okay. We just gotta

 

go on. I really appreciate the

 

effort you did make for me. And I

 

realize it’s not your fault that

 

you can’t give me what I want. But

 

the fact is you can’t. We have

 

different lives. I can’t be an

 

appendage to a saint.

 

 

 

She stops. There is silence, stillness.

 

 

 

ALICE

 

Mike, go ahead, make your call.

 

Don’t make this any harder than it

 

has to be.

 

 

 

Mike’s phone RINGS.

 

 

 

ALICE

 

Well, how ‘bout that for timing?

 

 

 

MIKE

 

(like he’s been

 

punched badly)

 

Hello…

 

 

 

LARRY (v.o.)

 

(filtered)

 

Well, did you make your mind up?

 

 

 

MIKE

 

Larry, you’re a cruel bastard.

 

 

 

LARRY (v.o.)

 

(filtered)

 

Welcome to politics, Chairman.

 

It’s about time you woke up to the

 

reality. So are you in or out?

 

 

 

MIKE

 

Alice already…

 

 

 

LARRY (v.o.)

 

(filtered; interrupting)

 

She’s there right now, I take it.

 

 

 

MIKE

 

Yeah, she just said I have to make

 

a choice.

 

 

 

LARRY (v.o.)

 

(filtered)

 

I said that to you months ago.

 

(pause)

 

So what’s it to be? The bells of

 

rapture? Or the stench of the shit

 

hole?

 

[PAGE 110-111]

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 

 

 

EXT – CAMPAIGN RALLY, NASHVILLE, TN DAY

 

 

 

HUGE APPLAUSE.

 

 

 

BLIK

 

It’s just more of the same! More of

 

the same big government! More of

 

the same big increases in your

 

taxes!

 

 

 

* * * * * * * * * *

 

 

 

BLIK

 

They want to return to the past

 

because they have nothing new to

 

offer! And yet when it comes to the

 

kind of return to the past you and

 

most of America is crying out to go

 

back to—an America of decency, of

 

morality, of respect for life, or

 

respect for our hallowed

 

institutions and traditions—the

 

Democrats try to block this at

 

every step!

 

 

 

HUGE BOOING.

 

[PAGE 58-59]

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 

 

 

INTERCUT – INT – GERRI’S OFFICE/MIKE’S OFFICE DAY

 

 

 

GERRI

 

Bill and I have agreed to give up

 

the disputed votes to a pool of

 

uncommitted delegates who will

 

sweat it out in Houston.

 

 

 

MIKE

 

Which disputed votes? The 562

 

votes the Illinois Board of

 

Elections agreed to revisit or the

 

5,086 votes Bill sued you over?

 

 

 

GERRI

 

Bill agreed to give up the

 

suit in return for my giving up

 

the 5,086.

 

 

 

MIKE

 

What is that, like two delegates?

 

 

 

GERRI

 

Actually 15. But even if it

 

were one, one is all… We decided

 

to open the floor of the Convention

 

up for a public debate.

 

[PAGE 119-120]

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 

 

 

MIKE

 

You also realize the voters of

 

Illinois are going to feel cheated

 

out of their autonomy.

 

 

 

GERRY

 

What, for three delegates?

 

 

 

MIKE

 

Alright, let me put it to you

 

simple. Every voter in Illinois is

 

going to feel like it’s his vote

 

that’s the one not being counted.

 

 

 

GERRI

 

(exasperated)

 

Alright, Mike, then take your ass

 

and go before the Governor and the

 

Illinois legislature and make the

 

case for a re-vote.

 

 

 

MIKE

 

And this on top of losing Alice.

 

 

 

GERRI

 

I thought we weren’t gonna talk

 

about that.

 

 

 

MIKE

 

No, you’re not gonna talk about

 

it. I’m gonna talk about it all I

 

want.

 

[PAGE 120]

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 

 

 

MIKE

 

Gerri, I want you to be the

 

nominee.

 

[PAGE 34]

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 

 

 

MIKE

 

Drew, I’m desperate. These

 

Republicans have destroyed the

 

country. I just want the most

 

electable candidate nominated. I’m

 

sorry for playing hardball

 

politics. It’s just we can’t

 

afford—this country can’t afford to

 

lose another election. Gerri is the

 

only one who has a real chance to

 

steal back what the Republicans

 

have stolen away from us.

 

 

 

DREW (v.o.)

 

(filtered)

 

Why? Because she’s white enough to?

 

 

 

MIKE

 

(suddenly pale)

 

No! What are you talking about?!

 

[PAGE 79-80]

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 

 

 

INT – MID-SIZE AUDITORIUM, DES MOINES, IA NIGHT

 

 

 

The Democratic candidates for President are sitting around a large roundtable along with moderator BRIAN WILLIAMS.

 

 

 

PARKER

 

You all know that I’ve never made

 

race an issue since I chose to

 

enter the public arena. I always

 

felt that a man…

 

(slight pause—points with

 

open hand toward Gerri, then

 

ELIZABETH WILDER)

 

or a woman…ought to be judged for

 

their acts…by what they’ve done.

 

[PAGE 83]

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 

 

 

But I just learned that my own

 

Party chairman—not the other side—

 

my Party’s chairman—is so afraid

 

that these barriers are firmly

 

impenetrable to the highest office

 

in the land, that he has expressed

 

his desire to see one of my

 

opponents in the Party get the

 

nomination.

 

[PAGE 84]

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 

 

 

INT – BALLROOM, NEW YORK NIGHT

 

 

 

Senator Blik, surrounded by an enthusiastic well dressed crowd, is giving a speech.

 

 

 

BLIK

 

Some of you might be listening to

 

the Chairman’s praise of changing

 

course and his praise for

 

indecision and are probably

 

laughing hysterically at how

 

anyone can go on the public

 

airwaves and make such a ridiculous

 

claim in saying that these

 

qualities make for an effective

 

leader. We’re at war right now as

 

well as entering a very rapidly

 

changing marketplace. I lead in all

 

the polls because what I have to

 

offer makes the most sense to the

 

most people. They don’t need to

 

hear that they’re somehow stupid

 

because they know what they want

 

and they’ve made up their minds.

 

[PAGE 97]

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 

 

 

INT – HOUSTON ASTRODOME, THE FLOOR, NEAR THE FRONT, OFF TO THE SIDE NIGHT

 

 

 

There is a lot of commotion and noise in the background as Mike cups his cell phone in one hand and puts his other hand over his ear as he talks.

 

 

 

ALICE (v.o.)

 

(filtered)

 

Thanks for the call. That was very

 

sweet. Take care of yourself.

 


MIKE

 

Yeah, I will, thanks.

 


ALICE (v.o.)

 

(filtered)

 

Goodbye, Mike.

 


MIKE

 

Yeah, take care.

 

(slight pause)

 

Listen Alice…

 

 

 

There is SILENCE on the phone. Mike stares long and hard.

 

 

 

EXT – HOUSTON ASTRODOME, PODIUM NIGHT

 

 

 

MIKE

 

(fighting back tears,

 

then with deep inner strength)

 

Thank you my friends and fellow

 

Americans. We have come to a new

 

era in our country’s history when

 

anger and bitter competitive

 

rivalry is being replaced by a

 

spirit of cooperation and unity.

 

When an America that excludes on

 

the basis of race, gender or

 

economic advantage is being

 

replaced by an America that is

 

inclusive of all. From an America

 

that incurs the anger and animosity

 

of those we share this planet with

 

to one that will garner their

 

trust, respect and hope as a

 

benevolent partner in our global

 

community. This is the America that

 

was launched in 1776 and this is

 

the America that the Democratic

 

Party is spearheading into the new

 

era. It is an America of

 

principles, not one that focuses on

 

personalities. It is an America

 

where character is respected but

 

where character traits and

 

background are ignored.

 

[PAGE 122-125]

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 

 

 

MIKE

 

But we are not here to serve you

 

merely in those challenges we find

 

easily attainable, but rather to

 

take on even the seemingly

 

impossible ones. I thank you very

 

much for your time and attention

 

and together with you look forward

 

to opening an exciting new era for

 

America!

 

[PAGE 128]

 

 

 

mgmgfilms@gmail.com

 

201-783-2770

 

Leave a Reply

