My Experience With Religion, My Spirit & My Perception & Beliefs About That Part of the World My 5 Senses Don’t Tell Me – Part 2

Here is the the second part of my article, “My Experience With Religion, My Spirit & My Perception & Beliefs About That Part of the World My 5 Senses Don’t Tell Me”:

I hate the word religion. I hate it more now than ever because so many misleading and false ideas stem from it and I am uncomfortable, having been born to an atheist family, to assign this word to my practice of NAM MYOHO RENGE KYO as an SGI members.
Having said that, my feelings about religion or religious practice and expression have always been very ambivalent and uneasy.  I was never comfortable sharing my religious experience and practice with anyone and have hated sharing defending religious systems, including the one I am now practicing, finding it to be a very argumentative and extremely uncomfortable experience, feeling the weight  of someone else’s sloppy explanation of life, how we got here and how we should live, too big a burden to have to defend, especially since I was never fully convinced of anyone else’s explanation anyway, from the Bible to some SGI leaders parroting what they had heard or read without fully digesting it while speaking at an SGI meeting.
What I do have no rambunction or compunctions about is that everyone needs to go through one’s own brave and scary journey to find out the truth—something very few do—and find somehow deep within them and out of life’s experiences that resonating and unequivocal conviction about life. Mine has been that nothing is given to us, that it is upon us to make out of the horrible experience we go through the ever-forging conviction that the good will triumph through my own arduous, relentless efforts and struggle unceasing till I die and that others will inherit it and improve upon it.

Leave a Reply

