This is from an article in the August Living Buddhism on page 28:
“At a crucial moment, the vacillating emotions in people’s hearts are clearly and unfailingly revealed. The human heart can be frightening indeed.
“Mr. Toda always used to say, ‘In a crunch, the facades of people who are unprincipled, self-serving or vain and pretentious soon crumble, revealing their true colors. Though they make a lot of noise about kosen-rufu and introducing others to Nichiren Buddhism, such base people almost invariably end up donning the evil armor of treachery and becoming an antagonistic force that insults and inflicts suffering on those who are dedicated to following the true and correct path.’
“Keenly perceptive, Mr. Toda further said: ‘Leave those base and cowardly losers be. To betray the Soka Gakkai is to betray the Daishonin. You’ll know what I mean, when you see the retribution they incur at the end of their lives.’
“For the past 55 years, I have clearly and gravely observed these patterns of human behavior. The strict workings of the Buddhist law of cause and effect are more accurate than the most precise science, utterly without error.”

There is a passage from gongyo that reads:
“Ga jo chi shujo.
“Gyo do fu gyo do.”
(“Always I am aware of which living beings
“practice the way, and which do not.”)

You cannot see behind pretense.
You cannot see behind insincerity.
You cannot see even your own ignorance
Unless you have devoted your own self to the way:
KOSEN-RUFU!

Unless you desire for true happiness for all people and are willing to strip yourself of your own prejudices, assumptions an lazinesses in life “lower the banner of your arrogance, cast aside the staff of your anger, and devote yourself exclusively to the one vehicle of the Lotus Sutra” (WND-1-p.59), you will never know what the way truly is nor whether you are practicing correctly or not.

I have paid my dues and suffered in the mud of everyday reality while fighting my hardest among ordinary people on the front lines of kosen-rufu while many stayed back. I do not say, “I think I have earned the ability to know who’s practicing and who’s not” simply observing what causes I have made. I have earned this ability because my eyes have been opened as a result of my practice. This is actual proof, not arrogance, for me to know where you’re coming from and see right through you. I know who I can count on and who all the charlatans are. I don’t honestly trust a single one of the SGI members except these few: Those I have seen day in and day out, and what they are doing to sincerely support others and improve themselves while carrying themselves with humility and gratitude, The Buddha, Shakyamuni, who was no monasticist preaching Buddhist doctrine from behind a pulpit, but who suffered alone and then suffered among the people, scratching his head all his life to find the best way to help the people bravely come to their own awakening to the truth of life (“and in resonse to their needs for salvation (Zui o sho a do), I preach various doctrines for them (I sesshu ju ho). At all times I think to myself (Mai ji sa ze nen): How can I cause living beings (I ga ryo shu jo) to gain entry into the unsurpassed way (Thoku nyu mu-jo do) and quickly acquire the body of a Buddha? (Soku joju busshin)”

The path is that simple. How much time do you spend truly caring about other people’s happiness and enlightenment? Or is it just you want them to like you so you are careful not to offend? Do you care enough about a person that you can say the truth and be tough enough to walk away if they reject you for it? Do you now enough about the truth or have your own blindnesses and prejudices about your own motives blinded you to them?

Buddhism is not an easy practice nor is life an easy life if you live it correctly and sincerely as a wise and honest person. Socrates drank the hemlock willingly. Martin Luther King walked willingly into the assassin’s bullet. Good people know everything that most of us cling to as comfort the way a baby does–they know that all that is on the line. But preaching it is not enough, I’m sorry.

So if you stand up in the organization or if you go on the website or social platform of Facebook, can you back up everything you say with your blood? If you don’t know the answer to that, then your words are false and just bullshit. Nothing that a person claims loyalty or fidelity to means anything to a person who isn’t willing to stake his whole life to defend that belief. That’s when people know they can count on you. When your words and your actions match up. So I say to you, make something of yourself in this world. Don’t be a weak wuss like the majority. Don’t be a Facebook Talking Head. Show us what you’re made of and walk the march. Go the distance. Put yourself on the line for people. Whether they reject you or embrace what you have to say, go all out for them. That is all anyone will see. I hope I can be braver and do a much better job at my own human revolution. But one thing I am proud I can say now: I am afraid of nobody. I live for what I know is right and I will never give up. Certainly never for peer pressure and never for political pressure. And never for a buck. If you don’t want to join us, I’m sad, but I need to find truly like-minded comrades who mean what they say. I never point fingers. Those with eyes can see for themselves. Those without eyes (people blind to what’s really going on) never will so it’s important never to poison their minds with information, whether true or false, that will poison their minds with prejudice. I don’t want anybody hating anybody else out of ignorance. The wise can already see what’s what while if the foolish can’t see who’s genuine and who’s not, it’s better not to tell them because they’ll still get the wrong idea. Mark my words and take my advice. I am rarely wrong anymore. You’ll see. Better sooner than later.

Leave a Reply

