A gift for Suzie81 who Speaks

Dear Suzie81,

I made a promise to myself to introduce one person to the great benefits of Nam-myoho-renge-kyo every day and after reading your blog this morning, I knew you were the one for today. Luckily or not, I worked overtime and so have 2 seconds to get this all done. But let’s consider this the start of an ongoing conversation.

Nam-myoho-renge-kyo (literally dedication of one’s life to the Mystic Law of the universe of the Lotus Flower Sutra (Myoho-renge-kyo) which is the principle of the simultaneity of cause and effect through teaching or sound) is the sound that, when chanted, activates the power of the Law of the Universe which pulsates throughout it and inside each of us without exception. That means we can break through obstacles, attain unsurpassed wisdom and understanding, and even help others to turn their lives around and become happy, the ultimate benefit of which is human beings living together in peaceful and harmonious coexistence, supporting one another. The best way to gain a better understanding than simply reading my blog is to chant it and see what happens for yourself.

In your blog that I read you spoke of not wanting to apologize for doing the things you like. I understood exactly what you were saying because I have been plagued with the feeling that I have to explain or beg for pardon in order to have permission to do something. But, through chanting Nam-myoho-renge-kyo for the past 26 years, I have come to understand that we are not in this world to gain permission from an authority greater than ourselves but rather to enjoy ourselves and, if anything, to contribute by sharing our joy, our love, our commitment and our efforts with others. Now, of course, the reality is that most people live an unenlightened existence either blaming others or themselves along the way, which pulls the life condition of humanity down. We are all intricately connected like a fine web. Isn’t it better to tug at it gently and to strive to raise us all up rather than pull it down?

I suspect you’ll say, “I’m fine, that’s okay” because I know you are sure of what feels right to you and what does not. Because what I am introducing you to is novel, you may be very wary, which, again I understand, having gone through that myself. Perhaps the best way to explain why NMRK is so wonderful is that it is the Middle Way, neither this nor that yet both. It does not demand you sacrifice yourself nor does it exist simply to indulge yourself. Rather it is the sword by which we face, grapple with and resolve the inevitable contradictions that life is always presenting before our path. It is knowing when to soak in that tub and relax and when to make the effort to expand our lives and attain our deepest and highest dreams, as well as to make the effort for the sake of others, for helping others is itself the greatest reward and happiness any one person can experience.

I hope, in the tiny bit of time I’ve been able to talk about it, it’s shed some light and attracted you to want to try it and check it out for yourself. Of course, as I said in my response to your other blog, I will totally love and respect you either way because you are a Buddha like everyone else, a person of the highest worth and respect.

Here’s a site to help you: http://www.sgi-uk.org/

Enjoy and let me know how it goes.

One comment on “A gift for Suzie81 who Speaks

  1. anmolthukral says:

    Thanku for such a beautiful article

Leave a Reply

